Pomme de Terre Crumble.

PotatoeCrumbleThe delights of buying a catered ski chalet holiday are questionable. In the most part, your wonderful food will be cooked by a nineteen-year-old with little culinary experience and who believes a pot noodle is a gourmet dinner.

During the first weeks of the season, the great unwashed of the British middle-class arrives to learn how to cook your menu. Chalet workers are given a one week of culinary boot camp to learn the basics. During culinary boot camp, sadly ingredient substitution is not explained. The chances are the same children substituting your lemon squash for Cif Lemon cleaner a week earlier on your supermarket shop are now creating your evening meals.

The funniest gastronomic mistake story I have heard was potato crumble.

The mistake happened because of a lost in translation moment. “Buy tinned, pre-pealed, pre-chopped” goods. I agree this is a time-saving tip, but it hardly makes for as gastronomic delight.

Lucy was more concerned about how her arse looks in ski pants than learning how to cook. I did feel sorry for Lucy, she came dreaming of snow selfies and unwittingly became the star of a ski guide’s sex tape. She was beside herself with self-loathing – I’m sure the link is still on XHamster.com, I digress.

On this particular day, Lucy had popped down to the local Sherpa to collect the ingredients for the upcoming weeks’ food. Straight to the canned fruit isle, to stock up. In her drunken haze, she mistook Pommes, for Pomme de Terre. She prepared the crumble, hungover and didn’t realise until it was time to serve the dessert. The following week a complaint letter arrived at the head office, the customer didn’t appreciate this take on a classic.

Author: thelegoskiman

I thought I had life figured out; I had a company, a good income, a shiny new car and a new build flat in a posh London postcode. Then one fateful day in December 2014 my world imploded, my company suffered an overnight collapse, leaving me both physically and mentally exhausted. During twenty fifteen I have come to terms with many of my demons and have addressed them through therapy, meditation or a combination of both. Finally, I can say I survived the hardest period of my life and as Alfred Pennyworth says; "Why do we fall Mr Wayne? So that one can learn how to get back up."

Leave a comment