A New Hope, it’s 1977 again…

Burton_The_Throwback_130

As Burton say “You need to know where you’ve been. To know where you are going.” Burton’s new Throwback snowboard clearly demonstrates this sentiment.  It’s directional styling and swallow tail, remind me of a skateboard, converted for snow use, the emergence of snowboarding.

This board is ideal for those days when a few inches of fresh snow has fallen. There’s no need for expensive boots because it has no bindings. Most resorts will not allow you to take it onto a piste because it has no metal edges, making expensive lift passes a thing of the past.

Sadly mine has arrived with some minor damage. The foot plates carry a permanent indent from the handle. It’s a shame but with Christmas coming and snow falling. Do I return and add delays, drive to the shop for a replacement or suck it up and live with the fault?

Author: thelegoskiman

I thought I had life figured out; I had a company, a good income, a shiny new car and a new build flat in a posh London postcode. Then one fateful day in December 2014 my world imploded, my company suffered an overnight collapse, leaving me both physically and mentally exhausted. During twenty fifteen I have come to terms with many of my demons and have addressed them through therapy, meditation or a combination of both. Finally, I can say I survived the hardest period of my life and as Alfred Pennyworth says; "Why do we fall Mr Wayne? So that one can learn how to get back up."

Leave a comment