Please keep your skiing tips to yourself…

It’s been a wonderful few days in Morzine, the snow has arrived and wow, it’s dumping most evenings.  I cannot explain the excitement of waking most mornings to fresh snow, it’s similar to being a child on Christmas morning, except Christmas has been coming most days.  The whole atmosphere has changed too, everyone is happy and the toasties bar is heaving.  There’s something very therapeutic about food preparation, the key being you get to make something people then consume and tell you is amazing.  I guess I feel validated and my decision to open this hut was a good one.

In fact, the only thing that has taken the edge off of these perfect conditions are British “know it all” skiers.  These are the skiers who are self-appointed ski instructors and probably have fewer snow hours logged than my adopted dog, Pablo.  If Lindsey Vonn suggested a technique change then, of course, I would listen but a dumb Brit, please keep your ideas to yourself.  There’s nothing more annoying than a self-appointed ski instructor and you know they cannot be a local because ESF (the real ski instructors) would have put a rocket up their ass.  They take the edge off of the day and are normally wrong to boot.  They make a mountain more dangerous and should ideally be banned from the slopes.  Sadly, that will have to remain my little fantasy and I’ll just have to plug in my iPod and listen to my music as I whizz past them and their ill-fated ski lessons.

The season is fast drawing to a close and I can barely believe how quickly this experience has flown by.  It’s had its ups and downs but overall it’s been a positive thing to have done and when I head back to the UK.

Author: thelegoskiman

I thought I had life figured out; I had a company, a good income, a shiny new car and a new build flat in a posh London postcode. Then one fateful day in December 2014 my world imploded, my company suffered an overnight collapse, leaving me both physically and mentally exhausted. During twenty fifteen I have come to terms with many of my demons and have addressed them through therapy, meditation or a combination of both. Finally, I can say I survived the hardest period of my life and as Alfred Pennyworth says; "Why do we fall Mr Wayne? So that one can learn how to get back up."

One thought on “Please keep your skiing tips to yourself…”

  1. That’s heart-warming and inspiring to read. There’s nothing quite like snow fall in a ski resort, followed by blue sky Spring days, totally. The stuff of dreams. Those know-it-all Nobbies must be the only blot on your beautiful mountains, I agree.
    Most good Brit skiers (I count myself as one being a trained guide and instructor!) wouldn’t dream of dishing out advice. We’re too busy skiing and leading the way…It’s always the 1o week wonders that insist on being prats!
    When do your lifts close in Morzine?
    Post some pic if you can…
    Miranda

    Like

Leave a comment