Brexit, what will it mean to UK ski bums?

brexit

As someone who spends a vast amount of my life on the continent, what will Brexit mean to me?

The first and scariest thing for any UK national is will I be able to stay in the French Alps. I feel more at home in France than the UK, like many previous seasonnaires, it saddens me to think that the next couple of years may be my last. In the short term, let’s be realistic here.

Firstly, we haven’t filed Article 50, also if Theresa May becomes the next Prime Minister, I doubt it will happen. The last committee set up by a UK government (Chilcot) took seven years to deliver a report and although damning it didn’t suggest legal responsibility.

From a financial point of view, it’s already a different world. The plus side is companies like Transfer Wise offer some of the best rates on the day. Anyone working in France and needing to send money back to the UK to pay bills is probably (like me), happy at the moment, a weaker pound makes UK bills cheaper. I believe it’s time to do a financial spring clean. Looking at all of the deals again and reassessing the options.

Personally, I went with GiffGaff as my UK mobile provider, mainly for the flexibility it offers and a Free mobile sim for France.

My overall view is one of sadness, I hope the UK and France can come to an arrangement allowing us all to work, trade and live as we always have been.

Author: thelegoskiman

I thought I had life figured out; I had a company, a good income, a shiny new car and a new build flat in a posh London postcode. Then one fateful day in December 2014 my world imploded, my company suffered an overnight collapse, leaving me both physically and mentally exhausted. During twenty fifteen I have come to terms with many of my demons and have addressed them through therapy, meditation or a combination of both. Finally, I can say I survived the hardest period of my life and as Alfred Pennyworth says; "Why do we fall Mr Wayne? So that one can learn how to get back up."

2 thoughts on “Brexit, what will it mean to UK ski bums?”

    1. Caroline, I agree. A decision has been made by the British people and as the vote was fair and legal. It should be acted upon. I notice from the cabinet appointments and Theresa May’s rhetoric though this is unlikely. She’s already told the French and the German’s we’ll get round to it, which in politics means it’s unlikely to actually happen.

      Like

Leave a comment